- Walking off Sligo main shopping street into Hargadons is like taking a step back in time, as its delightful and charismatic interior is almost the same as when it first opened.
- The present building situated at 4 & 5 O’Connell Street, Sligo was built in 1864 by Bernard Collery, a local merchant, who was also a member of Sligo Town Council and a Member of Parliament representing Sligo.
- The businesses carried on included general grocery and the retail and wholesale of beer, wine and spirits based in the cellars and bonded warehouse at the rear of the building.
- After Mr. Collery’s death in 1909 the property was acquired by Messrs Patrick & Thomas Hargadon who gave the property its name. Acquired in 2006 by R. & E. Monahan as part of the development of the adjoining Johnston Court Shopping Mall, Hargadons has since been sensitively restored to its former glory while keeping its original architecture, fixtures and fittings, its ambience and eclectic atmosphere.
Distance from St Angela’s: 7.3 km